BIRCHBOX NOVEMBER 2016

 
BEAUTY. I have been wanting to subscribe to a few beauty boxes for a while now, trying to figure out which one I'd like to start with. I used to subscribe to Glossybox when I was living in Sweden, it was the only one available there and I was really happy with it, but unsubscribed when I moved to England. Over here there is so much more choice, but I've decided to start with Birchbox. Birchbox is one of the few boxes which I had heard of even before I moved to the UK, it's a classic and have overall very good ratings and seem to be very consistent in the quality of the products. I plan on subscribing to a few others over the next few months, to see which ones I like the best. I love beauty subscriptions and the whole concept of them, that you get to try out new products but it has also got that element of surprise to it. I think it's a really nice way to treat yourself, and most of them are really good value (like the Birchbox).
 
Birchbox is £12.95 /month (including p+p), and contains five beauty products per box. You get to set up a profile, which means that the boxes are (more or less) curated to you and your beauty preferences, which I think is nice. It means I will actually get products that fits my skin type and skin tone. 
 
 
My first box was the November box, which arrived on Friday. Additional to the five products that comes with the box, I also got a mascara as a pressie for signing up. 
 
My box contained:
♥ NUXE Crème Prodigieuse - RRP £21*
♥ Marcelle BB Cream Golden Glow Illuminator - RRP £25*
♥ Beauty Protector Protect & Detangle - RRP £18.50*
♥ Obsessive Compulsive Cosmetics Lip Tar Primer - RRP £15*
♥ Midi Wet Brush - RRP £11.99*
♥ bbrowbar Mascara (Full Size) - RRP £18*
 
I only got the box a couple of days ago, but my first impressions are all quite positive. What I was most excited about was the BB Cream Golden Glow Illuminator from Marcelle, as I'm running low on foundation at the moment and BB creams generally work really well with my (dry and sensitive) skin. As it's been the weekend, I haven't put it to the test of a full day of work and London living, but for a quiet weekend it's been working really nicely. It has a nice coverage which I'm very pleased with, much better than I woud've thought, and is easy to apply. What I was also pleasantly surprised with was the Protect & Detangle spray from Beauty Protector. It smells exactly like my all time favourite hair oil from Argan Secret, and they seem to be very similar and give pretty much the same result - so I don't mind a little sample that I can keep in my bag. The Lip Tar Primer is really quite moisturising and it's got a nice, minty smell, but once again I haven't really put it to the test yet as I have had a mostly quiet weekend. 
 
NUXE is a brand I know and love, and this day cream was no exception. It's very moisturising and creamy, without being too heavy. The only thing I'm not completely on board with is the smell, it doesn't in any way smell bad, I'm just not a fan. I personally think it's a bit too perfume-y, if that makes sense. 
 
I was in need of a new mascara, so when I knew I was getting the bbrowbar Mascara in this month's box I was really happy. I'm struggling a little bit with it, as it is a bit clumpy, but I think we will become friends eventually. I'm a fan of a lot of mascara, but not lumps of it hiding between lashes. I'm not sure if it will get better or worse as it gets a bit drier - and I guess only time will tell. 
 
The only thing I was a bit disappointed with in this months box was the hair brush. Don't get me wrong, the Midi Wet Brush is actually quite good, but I would prefer something else. I don't mind tools such as makeup brushes in the subscription boxes, but a hair brush is one of those things that I only own one of, and I don't feel like I need another one. I'm happy to spend a little bit more money on a good hair brush, which is what I have done with the one I already have, and therefore this one will only be laying around. Also, I think the beauty of a subscription box is that you get to try products you wouldn't normally buy, but there is nothing too exciting about a hair brush. 
 
Overall, I'm very happy with the box and super excited to see what will come in my next box! I was cautious to get back in the beauty box wave again, I thought that maybe I remembered it to be better than it was, but now I'm hooked again. 
 
What beauty boxes do you subscribe to, and which ones would you like to subscribe to? Let me know and I will check them out! Also, if you subscribe to Birchbox - what did you get in your box this month and what do you think? 
 
*RRPs correspond to full size
 
 
Beauty Subscription - Birchbox - Birchbox UK - Lip Tar Primer - Marcelle - NUXE - bbrowbar - beauty blogger
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...




Annonser från BloggPartner